Temple Sowerby Parish Council:

The next Parish Council Meeting is Monday 9th July 2018 in the Victory Hall at 7 pm.

Parish Council:

Parish Clerk

Caroline Fennell  clerk@templesowerby.org.uk

Address for correspondence: Green Head Barn, Great Asby, Appleby, CA16 6EX

Telephone: 07725 351880 or 017683 53544

Parish Councillors

Kevin Overs (Chair) 07768 858515

Martyn Cannon cannonmartyn@yahoo.co.uk

Angela Mathers (Vice Chair) angelamathers99@gmail.com

Jonathan Richardson 07986 693780

Caryl Prior Varty 07740 422310

A Parish Council is a statutory body and the first tier of local government, making decisions itself, but also representing local people at other levels.  It is the level of Council closest to the community, with Eden District and then Cumbria County Councils being above it in hierarchy. The Council has the power to raise money through taxation, called the precept, which forms a part of the Council Tax.

Parish Councillors are local people who are either elected or co-opted to the Parish Council. They volunteer and give their time freely because they seek to make a positive contribution to their community. Temple Sowerby has five Parish Councillors.

The Parish Clerk is an employee of the Parish Council and is responsible for managing the Council’s business, providing advice and implementing decisions.

Meetings are held every two months in the Victory Hall, which the people who live and work in the Parish are encouraged to attend. There are other meetings that are attended by the clerk and councillors as required such as on planning issues, tree management etc.

Here are some things we do

  • Give views on behalf of the community eg we are consulted on planning applications and other proposals that affect the parish.
  • Undertake projects and schemes that benefit local residents and businesses eg The Speed Indicator Device, Website, provision of parking spaces to the north of the Churchyard, management of the Village Green.
  • Work in partnership with other bodies to achieve benefits for the Parish eg with Eden District Council, Cumbria County Council, United Utilities, Natural England
  • Alert relevant authorities to problems that arise or work that needs to be undertaken eg Cumbria County Council on footpath issues
  • Help the other tiers of local government keep in touch with their local community. The District Councillor and County Councillor regularly attend our meetings.
  • Manage the three Parish Houses in the village, which also provide income to the Parish
Policies and Financial Statements

Councillors Register of Interests:

Click here to see full details on the Eden website

Useful Information:

If you need to report new issues with roads, pavements, street lighting or traffic signals use the Highways Hotline on 0300 303 2992 or you can Report a Fault by filling in an online form here.

For information on making a planning application, as well as viewing and commenting on applications look at Eden District Council’s website here.

Conservation Area
A large part of the village falls within a Conservation area. For the map and further details: Click here.

MP: Rory Stewart (Conservative) W: www.rorystewart.co.uk   T: 017684 84114  E:rory@rorystewart.co.uk

District Councillor: Henry Sawrey-Cookson (Independent Alliance)   T: 017683 61574 E:henry.sawrey-cookson@eden.gov.uk

County Councillor: David Whipp (Conservative)  T:  07795 401739  E: David.Whipp@cumbria.gov.uk